SPARTA Authors and Thanks

The development of SPARTA has been funded by the US Department of Energy (DOE).

The chief authors of SPARTA are the following folks at Sandia National Labs:

Tim Bartel (Sandia)was the chief author of the 2d ICARUS DSMC code, a predecessor to SPARTA. Some of the parallelization ideas developed for ICARUS have also been useful in SPARTA.

Dan Rader and Steve Kempka, both managers at Sandia, provided enthusiastic support for SPARTA development and its release as open-source software.

Contributors to features added to SPARTA

Mar24 variable timestepping Alan Stagg (Sandia)
Apr23 global optmove Alan Stagg (Sandia)
Apr23 fix surf/temp Arnaud Borner (NASA Ames)
Jul22 surf_collide adiabatic Tim Teichmann (KIT)
Jan22 support for Exodus 2 format in Thomas Otahal (Sandia)
Jan22 compute boudary/surface nflux Tim Teichmann (ITEP, KIT)
Oct21 surf_react adsorb Krishnan Gopalan (NASA Ames)
Jan20 surf_collide cll, td, and impulsive models Krishnan Gopalan (NASA Ames)
Apr19 marching cubes algorithm for 3d implicit surfaces Arnaud Borner (NASA Ames)
Dec17 KOKKOS package Stan Moore, Dan Ibanez, Tim Fuller (Sandia)
Oct14 ParaView converter tools Tom Otahal (Sandia)
Jul14 Initial SPARTA release Michael Gallis and Steve Plimpton (Sandia)